It pays big to win the Heisman Trophy

2 min read

DeVonta Smith became the first wide receiver to win the Heisman Trophy since 1991, disturbing the dominance of quarterbacks who have won 20 in the intervening years. The Alabama footballer succeeded his teammate and quarterback Mac Jones to win the coveted 2020 award. 


The Heisman Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding player in US college football. The bronze trophy is modeled after Ed Smith, a leading college footballer in 1934, and was created by the Downtown Athletic Club in 1935 - taking its name from their AD John Heisman who died the following year. 


The Heisman Trophy wasn’t the only 2020 accolade won by Smith - he also received the Paul Hornung Award, which is handed to college football's most versatile player. 


The last three recipients of the Heisman Trophy went on to be the first pick in the NFL draft and sign multi-million dollar contracts. It has been estimated that winning the Heisman Trophy alone can equate to at least $800,000 in worth over the winner's lifetime. 


Recent Heisman Trophy winners who have been NFL draft first pick and earned four-year deals include: 

  • Joe Burrow, 2019: $36.1 million deal with the Cincinnati Bengals
  • Kyler Murray, 2018: $35 million deal with the Arizona Cardinals
  • Baker Mayfield, 2017: $32 million deal with the Cleveland Browns

It's your turn. Kickstart your scholarship journey today!

Enquire Now